Fire at Air Canada by Sheila A. Donovan

The fire alarm clanged frantically, as I was setting up a trip for an Air Canada customer on the phone. Being near the end of the call, I finished quickly. Because of my experience at the TWA fire, I led the way to the fireproof staircase leading from the 11th floor to the exit on the first floor. Co-workers rushed out, behind me.
Air Canada was in the office building of the Marina City complex, which was later renovated to a hotel in 1996.

At first we didn’t encounter any smoke as we scurried down the steps. As we descended further, we smelled a faint aroma until we reached the first floor. Fire engines surrounded the building, but as we emerged, we saw the firefighters retrieving their equipment and exiting.

A fool who lived in the tower residences had dropped a match, or a lit cigarette, down the garbage chute. The greasy chute caught fire, as did the garbage in the industrial sized bin at the bottom. It was quickly put out before any real damage could be done.

After several small blazes like this, over the next months, Air Canada supervisors refused to allow us to leave our desks when an alarm sounded. I refused to stay put. I was not going to endanger my life, like I did at TWA, so I could answer calls. When it was clear there was no danger, I would re-enter the building and return to my desk.

Clang, clang, clang! The alarm sounded. I immediately headed to the stairs. Smoke was coming up the enclosed staircase! I covered my mouth, headed out the door on the 10th floor and crossed the building to a smoke-free staircase. Again, firetrucks surrounded the building. This time they didn’t leave. My co-workers were finally allowed to exit the building. This was a major fire!

The bowling alley located on the second floor was ablaze. A worker had been using a torch to repair a pipe in the storage area. Unfortunately, that was exactly where they kept varnish for the bowling alley’s floors. Somehow, flame met with varnish. Soon, fire encased all the varnish containers. The resulting explosion knocked the man into the intense flames, burning him badly.

An ambulance rushed the worker to the hospital. He had life-threatening burns over the majority of his body. They weren’t sure if he’d make it. Luckily, he survived, but had to be tended to and have therapy for years.

After the fire was extinguished and the building’s manager was advised that it was safe to allow people back in, I joined the others in returning to the office. I declared to the supervisors “This is why I always leave when the alarm goes off. You never know what degree of danger there is.”

I headed back to my desk, put my headset on and answered the phone calmly “Air Canada Reservations, Sheila speaking” as if was just another day on the job.

 

 

Leave a comment